Pure Cafe – Christchurch, New Zealand


IMG_5958

IMG_5959

IMG_5960

We went to visit some of our friends in Christchurch, who are also paleo, and they were really excited to try this new cafe that was “paleo friendly,” so of course, what better time to go than with a group of paleo people?

I must say that it was one of the strangest breakfast places I’ve been. I don’t quite understand the breakfast/gym/cafe/juice bar thing that you see every now and then. I ate my paleo friendly breakfast with the view of a girl doing lunges about 10 meters away. I guess it wouldn’t seem so strange if they actually had a more defined barrier between the gym and the restaurant, but really it was just a walk way. I can imagine every single person who works out there must just be thinking about eggs and bacon the entire time they are working out… Meanwhile I’m thinking about sweat and dripping arm pit hair… Just not my thing while I’m eating.

Aside from the location, the food was sub par. I was super excited to have so many grain free options, but it just wasn’t special. One of my friends that I went with was extremely disappointed and still hungry after he finished his breakfast. Not really a good sign… And who wants to buy an side at that price? Man…

To top it all off, we had to wait quite a long time for our food, and it was such a tiny place, which appeared to be primarily a coffee shop, so you’d think it would be a bit faster. I could actually keep going. We did not enjoy it.

Posted by: Paleo Plate Raider

Leave a Reply

