Ancestral – Wellington, New Zealand


IMG_1021

Why have I never been to Ancestral before? It’s been around for ages and I’ve always heard that it was great, but I just never went.

I was pretty surprised to learn it was primarily a cocktail bar, because I had always been under the impression that it was a fancy restaurant. They do have a dinner menu, but it appears to be more bar than restaurant. There’s quite an exciting and cool vibe inside, which I never got from walking past the entrance over the last few years.

They serve a Yakitori bar menu, which has a lot of paleo friendly options to choose from. They cook it out back in the garden bar, which you can see from most parts of the restaurant, and is quite dramatic and fun to watch with huge sparks flying and some amazing smells filling the building.

I just ordered the salmon skewers, which were absolutely amazing. The salmon was crispy on the outside and a creamy medium rare in the centre (which is how I like my salmon). Ordering off the Yakitori menu is pretty affordable if you don’t need a lot of food, so I’m very happy to have finally made my way there. I’m definitely coming back for a full sometime.

Posted by: Paleo Plate Raider

Leave a Reply

