Mexicali Fresh – Auckland, New Zealand


IMG_3266

I ate here when I had 20 minutes between meetings on K Road in Auckland while I was up for the day, and just had to shove some food into my face as fast as I could. I don’t know anything in Auckland, so I wasted about 10 minutes walking up and down the road before I decided that I should just take the first thing I see with a gluten free options. And then, behold! A Paleo bowl was on the menu!

But this paleo bowl was terrible. Kinda like ordering food from the cafeteria in high school, where you feel like you’re getting a taco salad, but what you’re really getting is a bunch of salsa and soggy onions slopped on top some leaves and what appears to be the scrapings off the bottom of the pan from cooking up chicken… I didn’t even finish it. I ate as much as I could so that I wouldn’t be starving later, and then left.

I got the impression that this is the kind of place you go to eat at 2am after binge drinking, and not the kind of place you go for a healthy meal. I mean, it just looks like a fast food place, about on par with Subway or Baja Fresh, but I think both Subway and Baja Fresh are better… Too bad Baja Fresh is in a different country… I would eat here again in a pinch just because it had a paleo option, but I would resent it.

Posted by: Paleo Plate Raider

Leave a Reply

